# October 27, 2021 Meeting Minutes

Location	Date	Time	Format
Oklahoma City, OK	October 27, 2021	7:00am CT	In Person

# In Attendance

Board Members		
Joe Patterson	President	Present
Dave Devine	President-Elect	Present
Rodney Cobb	Immediate Past President	Absent
Beverly Wiley	Northeast Regional Vice-President	Present
John McPhail	Central Atlantic Regional Vice-President	Present
James Ellis	Southeast Regional Vice-President	Present
Walker Clark	South Regional Vice-President	Present
Drew Wells	Southwest Regional Vice-President	Present
Darrin Duistermars	Midwest Regional Vice-President	Present
Mary Mahoney	Mid-America Regional Vice-President	Present
Dick Gulmon	Northern Regional Vice-President	Present
Roger Garcia	Northwest Mountain Regional Vice-President	Present
Anna Louie	Pacific Coast Regional Vice-President	Present
Donn Addante	Elected At-Large Representative	Present
Sandy Searcy	Allied / Affiliated Members	Present
David James	Independent Director	Present
Valerie Arioto	Elite Athlete Representative	Absent
Nick Mullins	Elite Athlete Representative	Present
Michelle Moultrie	Elite Athlete Representative	Present
Cam Schiller	Elite Athlete Representative	Present
Others Present		
Craig Cress	CEO	Present
Cheryl Bond	CFO, Minute Taker	Present
Chris Sebren	Chief Sport Development/Performance Officer	Present
Allison Flaig	Chief of Staff	Present
Rich Cress	Director of Membership Services	Present
Andrea McKee	Director of Marketing & Communications	Present
Jay Hedrick	Network Administrator	Present
Devin Loehrs	Managing Director of Informational Technology	Present
Kevin Ryan	Independent Contractor, Director of Umpires	Present
Julie Whiteaker	Events Manager	Present
Emily Moore	Sr. Marketing and Communications Coordinator	Present
Allison Fanning	National Teams Manager	Present
Morgan Palmer	Communications Manager	Present
Ashlea Nash	Marketing Manager	Present
Molly Greene	Events Manager	Present
AJ Morgan	RPS Bollinger Broker for USAS	Present
Steve Wolter	Strategic Planning Consultant	Present

# Minutes

## 1. Call to Order

President Patterson called the meeting to order at 7:00 a.m. CT.

At that time, a quorum was confirmed.

## 2. Roll Call

# 3. Approve the Agenda

MOTION	BD	21-10	08
To approve the agenda			
Moved	Sandy Searcy	Seconded	Roger Garcia
CARRIED			

#### 4. Approve September 29, 2021 and October 23, 2021 Minutes

MOTION	BD	21-10	09
To approve minutes from September 29, 2021, and October 23, 2021, meetings			
Moved	Beverly Wiley	Seconded	Mary Mahoney
CARRIED			

## 5. Executive Session

President Patterson request the Board enter executive session for purposes of discussion related to insurance and strategic planning to accommodate travel schedules for meeting guests.

MOTION	BD	21-10	10
To enter Executive Session			
Moved	Anna Louie	Seconded	James Ellis
CARRIED			

MOTION	BD	21-10	11
To purchase local association D&O coverage with a \$5,000 deductible for 2022.			
Moved	Walker Clark	Seconded	Roger Garcia
CARRIED			

MOTION	BD	21-10	12	
To purchase D&O coverage with a \$35,000 deductible for the National Office				
Moved Drew Wells Seconded Anna Louie				
CARRIED				

AJ Morgan left and Julie Whiteaker, Emily Moore, Kevin Ryan, Allison Fanning, Morgan Palmer, Ashlea Nash, and Steve Wolter arrived at 8:30am.

Julie Whiteaker, Emily Moore, Kevin Ryan, Allison Fanning, Morgan Palmer, Ashlea Nash, and Steve Wolter left at 10:45am.

MOTION	Finance Committee	21-10	13	
To reduce ACE Rebate \$2.50/participant to develop and expand content for members including closed				
captioning and SafeSport integration.				
Moved Walker Clark Seconded Donn Addante				
CARRIED				

MOTION	Finance Committee	21-10	14	
To approve the Preliminary Budget for 2022 as presented. Final Budget to be presented when all				
insurance rene	insurance renewals are completed.			
Moved	Moved Roger Garcia Seconded Mary Mahoney			
CARRIED				

MOTION	BD	21-10	15	
To approve Henry Pollard as Commissioner Emeritus.				
Moved	John McPhail	Seconded	James Ellis	
CARRIED				

MOTION	BD	21-10	16
To approve Jerry Stewart as Council Member Emeritus.			
Moved	Darrin Duistermars	Seconded	Anna Louie
CARRIED			

MOTION	BD	21-10	17
To accept the retirement of Mike Wells as Commissioner of USA Softball of Oregon as of 12/31/21.			
Moved	Roger Garcia	Seconded	Anna Louie
CARRIED			

Lunch Break from 11:05-11:30am

MOTION	Membership Improvement	21-10	18	
	Committee			
To approve Decatur II CVB as an Affiliated Member and Florida First Coast Softball Inc and Hawaii				
Softball Foundation as Allied Memberships beginning in 2022.				
Moved James Ellis Seconded Anna Louie				
CARRIED				

MOTION	Commissioner Appointment	21-10	19		
	Committee				
To approve th	To approve the promotion of Darrin Duistermars, Brett Williamson, and Wayne Straiton to Permanent				
Commissioners; Kristi Rich to remain as Interim Commissioner; the promotion of Chris Drumm, John					
McPhail, Ben (	McPhail, Ben Crenshaw and Tracy Morgan to Interim Commissioners.				
Moved	Sandy Searcy	Seconded	David James		

CARRIED

MOTION	Membership Improvement	21-10	20		
	Committee				
To approve se	To approve sending the committee recommendations back to committee for further discussion and				
action to furth	action to further clarify actions, remediations and appropriate follow up recommendations to be				
presented at t	presented at the December Board Meeting.				
Moved	Moved Donn Addante Seconded Anna Louie				
CARRIED	CARRIED				

MOTION	BD	21-10	21		
To increase Board size to 24 by adding 4 athletes to comply with the Ted Stevens Act.					
Moved Donn Addante Seconded					
Motion withdr	Motion withdrawn; new bylaw proposal to be presented at the December Board Meeting.				

MOTION	BD	21-10	22	
To approve increasing the Hall of Fame Committee size from 12 to 16 members.				
Moved	Darrin Duistermars	Seconded	Anna Louie	
CARRIED				

MOTION	BD	21-10	23		
To Return to C	To Return to Open Session				
Moved	Beverly Wiley	Seconded	Sandy Searcy		
CARRIED					

Returned to open session at 12:42pm.

#### 6. Management Reports

CEO Cress introduced staff present at the meeting and welcomed the Board to Oklahoma City.

- A. September Production Reports reports were distributed to Board Members.
- B. 2022 Council Meeting– November 12-16, 2022, in Shreveport Louisiana. 2023 planning has begun.

MOTION	BD	21-10	24	
To approve eliminating a day from the Annual Council Meeting schedule.				
Moved	Drew Wells	Seconded		
Motion failed for a lack of second				

To approve the current format for the 2022 Council Meeting starting on Saturday and ending on				
Tuesday.				
Moved	d Roger Garcia Seconded Dick Gulmon			
CARRIED				

MOTION	BD	21-10	26		
To approve Oklahoma City as the host for the Annual Council Meeting odd numbered years beginning					
in 2023.					
Moved Drew Wells Seconded Donn Addante					
CARRIED					

Donn Addante left meeting due to travel requirements at 1:43pm

C. HPP Update and Restructuring – CEO Cress and Chris Sebren presented an update of the restructuring of the HPP under the direction of Kelly Kretschman.

MOTION	BD	21-10	27		
To approve the	To approve the 2022 fee structure for the HPP.				
Moved	Mary Mahoney	Seconded	Walker Clark		
CARRIED					

# 7. Old Business

Board Composition – updated Board that beginning in 2022 there will be 24 members and that the committee will continue to evaluate options for 2023 and beyond.

8. New Business

None

- 9. Next Board Meeting December 15, 2021, at 1:00 CT.
- 6. Adjournment

MOTION	BD	21-10	28
To Adjourn			
Moved	Walker Clark	Seconded	Sandy Searcy
CARRIED			

The meeting was adjourned at 2:05pm.